Department Of Social Development National

By | December 14, 2021

In July 2000, the Department of Welfare was renamed “The Department of Social Development”.

We are called the Department of Social Development:

  • Because of our commitment to social transformation

We are committed to the agenda of social transformation that is embodied in the principle of social justice and the Bill of Rights contained in our Constitution. We endeavour to create a better life for the poor, vulnerable and excluded people in our society. 

  • Because our task is to reduce poverty and promote social integration

 Our task is to develop and monitor the implementation of social policy that both creates an enabling environment for and leads to the reduction in poverty. We ensure the provision of social protection and social welfare services to all people who live in our land. We conduct research that develops the social indicators necessary for programme implementation and public accountability.

  •  Because our work is based on partnerships and the Batho Pele principles of service delivery

 All our work requires extensive and on-going consultation with all sectors of our society. Our programmes are integrated with those of other government departments and all spheres of government. We work in partnership with NGOs, faith-based communities, the business sector, organized labour, and other role players. We are committed to the Batho Pele (People First) principles and use them to improve service delivery to our clients and the public.

  •  Because our actions are based upon solidarity and engender self-reliance

 As social service professionals, we act on the basis of solidarity with all of humanity. We seek to empower communities and engender self-reliance by creating conditions for sustainable livelihoods. This involves expanding the range of choices available to communities.

  •  Because of the range of our human services

 Our development, social protection and social welfare services span the entire life cycle of human life and encompass advocacy, promotion, prevention, care, mitigation and palliation.