Social Services Development Department Of Quezon City

By | December 14, 2021

Social Services Development Department Of Quezon City, On September 28, 1939, the National Assembly approved Bill No. 1206 as Com-monwealth Act No. 502, otherwise known as the Charter of Quezon City. Signed by President Quezon on October 12, 1939, the law defined the boundaries of the City and gave it an area of 7,000 hectares carved out of the towns of Caloocan, San Juan, Marikina, Pasig, and Mandaluyong, all in Rizal Province.

The City’s territorial boundaries were revised four (4) times since its creation on October 12, 1939. Originally, Quezon City had only about 7,000 hectares extending from La Loma to Marikina River and from Pasong Tamo River down to (and including) Wack Wack Golf Club in Mandaluyong. The final amendment was made on June 16, 1956 by virtue of RA 1575 with the City’s area, 15,106 hectares. This is the present official territorial boundary of Quezon City. However, graphical plots made on this present boundary of the City gave an area of 16,112 hectares, about a thousand hectares more than its officially declared land area.

The original physical plan of the City was prepared in 1940 by Harry T. Frost, an architectural adviser of the Commonwealth. He reflected a big quadrangle in the heart of the City from which four (4) avenues radiated toward the outskirts with rotundas placed on the four (4) corners, the largest being a 26–hectare elliptical center, now known as the Quezon Memorial Circle.

The enactment of Republic Act No. 333 on July 17, 1948, made Quezon City the capital of the Philippines. The Act created the Capital City Planning Commission which was tasked to prepare the general development plan and supervise the improvements to be done in the Capital City.

Quezon City was formally inaugurated as the national capital of the Philippines on October 12, 1949. President Quirino laid the cornerstone of the proposed Capitol Building at Constitution Hills. The Welcome Arch (now Mabuhay Rotunda) at the boundary of Manila and Quezon City was built;

For twenty-seven (27) years, Quezon City held the distinct status of being the nation’s capital. However, 
on June 24, 1976, then President Marcos issued Presidential Decree (PD) 940, which effectively conferred back the role of the nation’s capital to the City of Manila and mandated the area prescribed under PD 824 as Metropolitan Manila, now known as the National Capital Region (NCR), to be the permanent seat of na¬tional government.

Indeed, even as Quezon City is no longer the nation’s capital city, it has proved to be a vast and teeming city with a steadily increasing income and occupation of one-third of Metro Manila’s total land area. It now serves as the Philippines’ government center with the legislature and other important government offices located in its area. All of these are reminiscent of the same noble dream that brought forth the creation of the City.


  • Address Molave Youth Home Bldg, Quezon City Hall Compound
  • Tel 8988-4242 local 8192 / 8927-1588 / 8929-1412
  • E-mail [email protected]