National Department Of Traditional Affairs

By | December 10, 2021

The COGTA Ministry comprises of the Department of Cooperative Governance and the Department of Traditional Affairs. Key elements and Constitutional foundations of CoGTA’s mandate:

  • System of  Cooperative Government (Chapter 3 of the Constitution)
  • Provinces (Chapter 6 of the Constitution)
  • Local Government (Chapter 7 of the Constitution)
  • Traditional Leaders (Chapter 12 of the Constitution)

A functional and developmental local government system that delivers on its Constitutional and legislative mandates within a system of cooperative governance

This Vision is in line with the objectives of Chapter 13 of the National Development Plan: ‘Building a capable and developmental State’

Our mission is to ensure that all municipalities perform their basic responsibilities and functions consistently by:

  1. Putting people and their concerns first;
  2. Supporting the delivery of municipal services to the right quality and standard;
  3. Promoting good governance, transparency and accountability;
  4. Ensuring sound financial management and accounting; and
  5. Building institutional resilience and administrative capability.

This mission is directly adopted from the 5 Pillars of the Back to Basics Campaign.

Guided by the spirit of Batho Pele, our values are:

  • Commitment to public service.
  • Integrity and dedication to fighting corruption.
  • A hands-on approach to dealing with local challenges.
  • Public participation and people centered approach.
  • Professionalism and goal orientation.
  • Passion to serve.
  • Excellence and accountability.

Adherence to these values will contribute towards the required state of Local Government.

Contact information
Tel: 012 334 0600
E-mail: [email protected]


Inclusive, cohesive, developed and sustainable traditional and interfaith communities.


Informed by the NDP, MTSF (Government Outcomes), the Department’s mission is to transform, develop and promote cohesiveness and sustainability of traditional and interfaith communities through:

  • Developing, implementing, monitoring and reviewing traditional affairs legislation, policies, norms and standards.
  • Monitoring and providing support to the institution in its administration of the affairs of traditional communities in accordance with customs and traditions.
  • Developing mechanisms for structures of traditional leadership to support municipalities in the identification of community needs.
  • Facilitating the involvement of traditional communities in the development or amendment of IDPs within their areas.
  • Monitoring and providing support to the structures of traditional leadership in their participation and promotion of development and service delivery within their communities.
  • Monitoring the participation of structures of traditional leadership in the development of policy and legislation at local level.
  • Monitoring the participation of structures of traditional leadership in the development programmes of municipalities, provincial and national spheres of government.
  • Monitoring the promotion of the ideals of cooperative governance, integrated development planning, sustainable development and service delivery by structures of traditional leadership;
  • Monitoring the promotion of indigenous knowledge systems by the institution of traditional leadership and ensuring that they are in accordance with Constitutional principles.
  • Developing appropriate policies, legislation, norms, standards, systems and regulatory framework governing traditional affairs.
  • Coordinating the interfaith sector to promote social cohesion and nation-building.


Community and development-oriented, Accountability, Professionalism, Integrity, Excellence, Respect, Teamwork, Information sharing and communication.