Department Of Trade And Industry Attached Agencies

By | December 14, 2021

Department Of Trade And Industry Attached Agencies, in addition to its internal capacity, the Department of Trade and Industry (the dti) relies on a group of specialised, regulatory and financial development agencies and institutions in supporting its economic growth, employment and equity ideals, and in delivering products and services to the economic citizens of the country.

These agencies or Council of Trade and Industry Institutions (COTII), include the following:

  1. Companies and Intellectual Property Commission (CIPC);
  2. Companies Tribunal (CT);
  3. National Empowerment Fund (NEF);
  4. Export Credit Insurance Corporation of South Africa SOC Limited (ECIC);
  5. South African Bureau of Standards (SABS);
  6. National Credit Regulator (NCR);
  7. National Lotteries Commission (NLC);
  8. National Gambling Board (NGB);
  9. South African National Accreditation System (SANAS);
  10. National Consumer Tribunal (NCT);
  11. National Consumer Commission (NCC);
  12. National Metrology Institute of South Africa (NMISA); and
  13. National Regulator for Compulsory Specifications (NRCS)

Through the collective efforts of the dti group, the Department seeks to achieve the following objectives:

  • Increase the contribution of small, medium and micro-sized enterprises (SMMEs) to the South African economy, via financial, administrative and other support;
  • Ensure the implementation of Broad-Based Black Economic Empowerment (B-BBEE) across all sectors of the economy;
  • Increase the levels of foreign direct investment into the country;
  • Expand market access opportunities for the exportation of South African goods and services; and
  • Contribute towards building skills, technology and infrastructure platforms in the economy, from which enterprises can benefit.