Department Of Science And Technology Tagalog

By | December 14, 2021

Department Of Science And Technology Tagalog, The Philippines’ Department of Science and Technology (abbreviated as DOST; Filipino: Kagawaran ng Agham at Teknolohiya), is the executive department of the Philippine Government responsible for the coordination of science and technology-related projects in the Philippines and to formulate policies and projects in the fields of science and technology in support of national development.


The DOST was formed as the National Science Development Board on June 13, 1958, during the administration of President Carlos P. Garcia. The science body was formed as a result of a law passed in Congress upon the recommendation of Dr. Frank Co Tui, who was tasked by Garcia to conduct a survey regarding the state of science and technology in the country. It was reorganized as the National Science and Technology Authority (NSTA) on March 17, 1981, and was given broader policy-making and program implementing functions.

On January 30, 1987, during the administration of President Corazon Aquino, the NSTA was elevated to cabinet-level status with the signing of Executive Order 128 and was renamed the Department of Science and Technology