Department Of Public Works Bloemfontein Tenders

By | January 19, 2022

Department Of Public Works Bloemfontein Tenders

Bloemfontein  Afrikaans and Dutch “fountain of flowers” or “blooming fountain”; also known as Bloem) is the capital city of the province of Free State of South Africa; and, as the judicial capital of the nation, one of South Africa’s three national capitals (the other two being Cape Town, the legislative capital, and Pretoria, the administrative capital) and is the seventh largest city in South Africa.

The mission of the Free State Department of Public Works and Infrastructure is the coordination, provision, and promotion of infrastructure, and the sound management of assets. The Department’s core functions are the design, construction, and maintenance of social and economic infrastructure; management of provincial government owned property, and facilitation of rented property; provision of provincial government office accommodation; coordination, implementation, and monitoring of the Expanded Public Works Programme; and security for interdepartmental buildings.

The Department’s key functional areas include the construction, maintenance, and upgrading of a sustainable social and economic infrastructure; development and sustaining of small and emerging contractors; empowerment of the targeted groups; demand for integrated accommodation for all provincial government departments; attainment of government’s broad socio-economic objectives (property incubator programme); need for norms and standards for spatial allocation/utilisation of office space; need for increased revenue generation; and administration of rental payments.


  • Agriculture and Rural Development
  • Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs
  • Economic, Small Business Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs
  • Education
  • Health
  • Human Settlements
  • Police, Roads and Transport
  • Provincial Treasury
  • Public Works and Infrastructure
  • Social Development
  • Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation

Public Entities

  • Free State Development Corporation (FDC)
  • Free State Gambling and Liquor Authority
  • Free State Tourism Authority