Department Of Cooperative Governance And Traditional Affairs Postal Address

Department Of Cooperative Governance And Traditional Affairs Postal Address

The mission of the Department of Cooperative Governance (COGTA) is to ensure that all municipalities perform their basic responsibilities and functions without compromise by: putting people and their concerns first; supporting the delivery of municipal services to the right quality and standard; promoting good governance, transparency and accountability; ensuring sound financial management and accounting; and building institutional resilience and administrative capability.

Governance is to facilitate cooperative governance and support all spheres of government, promote traditional affairs and support associated institutions through: developing appropriate policies and legislation to promote integration in government’s development programmes and service delivery; providing strategic interventions, support and partnerships to facilitate policy implementation in the provinces and local government; and creating enabling mechanisms for communities to participate in governance.

The strategic goals of the Department are aligned with the broad policy priorities of the country, as outlined in the 2014-2019 Medium-Term Strategic Framework (MTSF). The Department drives the implementation of the MTSF Outcome 9: to realise the MTSF vision and B2B programme through the implementation of strategic outcome-orientated goals, and programme strategic objectives for the Medium-Term Expenditure Framework (MTEF) 2015-2020 for updated strategic outcome-orientated goals.

Contact Details

Postal Private Bag X804, Pretoria, 0001
Physical 87 Hamilton Street, Arcadia, Pretoria
Tel 012 334 0600/0705